7.30am 25th January 2022

Looks like we will have some sunshine today!
There’s a group of around 30 jackdaws in the tops of the trees by the school gates, making a racket.
A large group of sparrows in a thicket in the hedge by the school fence making their chirping racket at the same time. It always sound like some sort of loud conversation!
The season is gradually advancing towards lighter days and spring.
Yesterday on my way home from my foray to the retail park I passed an old rook colony. Several years ago many of the trees were felled. Yet nothing has happened there since. No building or agriculture.
Rooks build in the same colonies and their old nests year after year.
I read that this has happened often for centuries.
I lamented their loss of their nesting site.
Yesterday I was so pleased to notice a large group once again taking possession of what remained.
Nature has obligingly filled out the ground beneath the trees which were left, with bramble thickets and tall grasses, holly and gorse. The gorse was in bloom with its cheerful yellow flowers.
Time for breakfast.
Then I frustratingly have to wait until the plumber comes to take a look at the gas combi boiler. It has a small drip which accumulates on the work surface next to the sink.
I wasn’t given a specific time for his arrival, except for “ He will be there at some point”.
At least he is coming so that’s good.
Sunrise today 7:59.
Sunset today. 16:42.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.