Contre Jour Outfall

I can’t quite believe there are rays of sunlight shining through the upstairs windows this morning. First, there’s the fact there’s sun at all after the unremitting gloom of recent days, then there’s the undeniable sign that we’re emerging from mid-winter’s twilight zone and the sun is finally peering over the hill into the house. It’ll be a week or so before we see the sun within the actual garden, but at least it makes us feel we’re past the worst.

Not knowing how long the sun will stay, we head off towards West Shore. I know the tide is low, and want to catch this beautiful stretch of beach in daylight for a change.

Expanses of shoreline and big skies seem made for Wide Wednesday, though ‘low level’ shots mean crouching on the wet sand, inevitably ending up as kneeling in my case! 

Again I make my way along the beach to the Ganol Outfall, shots from here rejected in last week’s sunset blip. I just love this barnacle encrusted structure leading out to sea. Against the sun, it’s black against the  blues of sea and sky, a boundary between mirror-smooth standing water and the wind-ruffled sea beyond. 

Walking back, the wind gets up - a lot. I watch two kite surfers battle with its force, one being carried high into the air. I stop to photograph them, trying to shelter from the sandblast now blowing off the beach, before they seem to realise the wind is now too strong and they haul their canopies back to the shore. There’s a shot from the sand dunes in extras. 

Thank so much for your good wishes following yesterday’s journal entry. I think many of you shared my reservations about the sculpture and its setting. Interestingly I looked at coverage  of the taxi bomb that exploded just outside the hospital last November, and at that time she was completely surrounded by shrubs and flowers. I wonder whether their removal was linked to security or something? 

Thanks to Bobsblips for hosting! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.