Mother and Child

Today is dominated by yet another hospital appointment. This time it’s Liverpool Women’s Hospital - the sixth I’ve visited in the last year!

As always, I’m so impressed by the warmth and gentleness of NHS staff, and this consultant gynaecologist is exemplary. No examination is pleasant, but the staff make it the best experience possible; he explains everything and, much to my relief, decides a biopsy without a general anaesthetic will be far too painful. Hopefully this can be done within the next few weeks - but unless my breathing issues can be resolved, it may have to be spinal. He offers up a diagnosis for one aspect of my condition, but the root cause is still needs to be identified - hence the need for further investigations. And he even talks to me about my mental health - walking, photography and Blip are mentioned here! 

Despite the fact that there are no definitive answers, we both feel positive and feel the end may be in sight - if still a fair way off. 

We had considered attaching a short break to this appointment, as we did back in November, but decided I was too tired to appreciate it. Instead, we have a meal in Mowgli - Nisha Katona’s wonderful Indian street food restaurant. Established originally in Liverpool, there are branches open in several cities. Highly recommended!  

Today’s blip features the 12 foot high sculpture outside the hospital’s main entrance - Mother and Child by Terry McDonald. It should be surrounded by greenery and flowers, but right now the site’s devoid of growth, and despite my attempts to soften the surroundings, I feel it’s hard to grasp the figure’s tenderness!  More about the sculpture  - and sculptor -  below, where you can also see her at her best, surrounded by summer greenery! 

https://www.artinliverpool.com/features/artist-blog/in-conversation-terry-mcdonald-marking-20-years-of-mother-child-at-the-womens-hospital/

Rather absent from blip tonight - I’ll catch up with your journals tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.