Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Snow Geese/Swans?

A change of scene for a couple days to friends cabin on a small San Juan island.   The San Juan’s are south of the gulf islands where our place is…and so much easier to get to!,  no covid test required! I love the drive up thru the skagit valley farmland where the snow geese have arrived .  They breed in Russia above the artic  circle above Siberia on wrangle island and 80000 to 130000 of them come here til maybe April.   This year because of their breeding grounds being a little warmer, it seems there are more young geese so the flock may seem grayer.  I couldn’t appreciate that… but I couldn’t get closer and there was not a handy place to stop so these pix are from the car.  Mt Baker lurks behind.   The fog lifted in the afternoon and the sun came out and went down in glory.    Friends R and D’s cabin is darling…right on the beach… low tide at 5:30, sundown at 5:05 so I put a few in the extra….including another shot of a larger group of snow geese in another place.    My eyes, my cameras, and my soul are happy tonight! 

Edit…. After I got home and looked some on the computer I'm sure this main blip are swans, (!!). but think the one in the extra are geese.  Swans come from the artic North America  to this area as well for the winter in lower numbers and are more spread out on the fields.  ( see friday blip for comparison) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.