Juvenile Cooper's Hawk ...

... on the hunt.

I can't believe I'm posting yet another bird picture!  But I couldn't resist this lovely Cooper's Hawk who flew into our yard while I was freezing my butt off on the deck!  Out of the 27 days so far this month I've posted 17 bird pictures and/or collages featuring birds!  I'll try for something different tomorrow!

Anyhoo ... I've initially identified this as a Cooper's hawk but when I looked at the Merlin bird app it could also be a Sharp-shinned hawk.  The Cooper's hawks are more suburban so that's my first inclination as we live in the suburbs.  If anyone can tell me definitively I'd appreciate it!

I've added a picture of a Northern Flicker that I forgot to add yesterday.  It was a nice clear day with plenty of blue skies.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.