Living my dream

By Mima

Top of the World

A friend phoned at sparrow-fart this morning and suggested a hill-climb. The sun was shining. The air was clear. The views promised to be good. It was an irresistible idea.

The hill-climb isn't quite as impressive as it sounds: it's 1.5km long, 150m up, 18 minutes out, 17 minutes back from my place. A good leg stretch and a brief lung workout.

During my four dogless months last year I made myself do the hill-climb every couple of days to keep me exercised and sane. Since Beanbag has been here I've not done it once. I prefer longer walks where she can run around free. 

Off we went at a fine pace enjoying the morning air. There was barely any traffic and the view was as good as expected at the top. 

My beautiful old dog, Sana-banana plodded up there stoically on two occasions last year when she was beyond big walks. 

The extra was taken the first time, when we had no idea she was behind us until I turned to look at the view 3/4 way up - and there was a tan dog doggedly following. Copious tears flowed. What a dog she was. 

I love Bean. I still love and miss Sana. Her spirit lives on in her successor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.