Oh dear! I've been spotted...

Woke up to grey skies and occasional rain. This did not appear to be a great outdoor blip day. However, as I was eating breakfast contemplating what to set up for a still life/indoor blip, I spotted movement just beyond my neighbor's patio. Deer! Oh boy, the light is dim and she is at quite a distance... but well worth taking a shot (pun intended;). So I got my camera and snuck out the side-door, crept my way along our deck and she spotted me. I wont be getting any closer. Click, click, click and off she went. Taken at a great distance, with a high ISO and about a 30% crop applied resulted in this. I'll take it!

There were two deers at first, feeding on the pine you see on the left. (This is actually a discarded Christmas tree... tasty I guess... but sounds kind of painful.) This image holds up pretty well large if you are interested.

Yesterday was the only other time I have seen deer near here during the daylight hours. Wish I could have gotten my camera fast enough then... she was on her hind legs eating out of a bird feeder... very funny. Otherwise, we get several traveling through our yard each night, but it's dusk at best. Never enough light to get a decent shot. So, needless to say, I was pretty please with this opportunity! Check out the sequence of events on Flickr.

Hope everyone had a good weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.