Blackbird

Tony spotted a goldcrest in the elder tree first thing.  Sod's law that it comes before we are set up for the RSPB Birdwatch!  It being a gloomy day I decided to work on my Blipbook, which I've neglected, and shouldn't have been surprised that at the same time last year I blipped a goldcrest!  That particular week I also blipped a siskin, a bullfinch and a long-tailed tit.  Let's hope that we see them again this year, particularly after the depressing statistics about 'missing birds'  in Europe on Winterwatch last night.  900 000 000 since the eighties.....It's a sobering fact.

I'm keeping an eye on the visiting starlings since gladders said their beaks change to yellow when they are ready to mate.  He is a mine of information about Nature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.