Parkrun Happiness

I didn't get much sleep last night with the threatened wind arriving and howling around the house. That in itself shouldn't have kept me awake but I was Run Director at Parkrun this morning, so concerned about the possibility of having to cancel.  I had read up on the procedure and we set out early to do a recce of the course and the park.  It wasn't as blustery down in the valley as it was up at our house so after clearing a few twigs from the route we took the decision to go ahead.

As nine o'clock neared it became quite gusty and I emphasised the importance of safety at the beginning of the briefing.  I was on tenterhooks throughout but we have an excellent volunteer team who were extra vigilant and thankfully all 88 runners and walkers completed their four laps safely and many said they had enjoyed it.

During the afternoon I processed my photos and uploaded them to the internet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.