Last Appearance

I bet this is the last appearance of this blackbird until after I’ve done the Big Garden Birdwatch this weekend, the birds always seem to go on a mini break for it! I was in the garden with my phone for a photo for blip, but nothing to see. Then I heard a rustling in the hedge behind the fence about 4ft from where I was standing, so I waited in case the blackbird or robin in there appeared. I enjoyed the tennis this morning, although I would have loved to also see Rafa’s match too. 

Day 683 / Day 2 Post Plan B (for my record only)
There are concerns over the BA2 subvariant of Omicron replacing the BA1 version as it seems to be 1.5 x as transmissible per a study from Denmark and may lead to reinfections more quickly. The UKHSA said that ‘the apparent growth advantage is currently substantial.’ The R rate in England fell to 0.7 to 0.9 - not sure how accurate with is as I think it uses official case no.s which don’t include reinfections (or LFT results?). The Pfizer antiviral pill Paxlovid will be rolled out on the NHS from next month to those with weakened immune systems who may not get good protection from vaccines. (The NHS invited me for a 3rd primary jab and booster due to a potentially severely compromised immune system, but I have been told I’m not on the list of conditions entitled to a standby PCR home test and antiviral treatment if I get Covid!!!). Boosters increase protection against death from Covid in over 50s to 95% after 2 weeks, the fall afterwards is not yet known. Wales moved to Alert level zero today. South Korea is planning new neighbourhood hospitals / clinics for Covid patients. Moderna is developing a single booster jab for both Delta and Omicron for use in the Autumn. Still no ‘partygate’ report, with the Met Police asking for ‘minimal reference’ in the report to the events it is investigating - I feel so sorry for Sue Gray. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.