Life's a Beach

Roam and Shenny are back home, reunited with a very happy Whiskey. He was extremely well looked after in their absence and got to do loads of walking as the young dog-sitting couple explored the local woods and hills with him. What a wonderful win-win-win that is.

Shenny came back with a ring on her finger. Roam came back with Covid.

In fact, they both came back with Covid and are now isolating. Roam almost certainly picked it up while he was working. It was almost inevitable. They're not really unwell. Roam says it's been no worse than having a bad cold. So, in lieu of being able to provide the planned romantic picture of them both, with said ring on Shenny's finger, I present the engagement photograph that Roam took on the day.

He did the deed in style, by sunset on a Californian beach. I reminded him that it was nicely complementary to my proposal to his mother, on top of Long's Peak, at over 14,000 feet, the highest mountain in Colorado. We got married just a few days later in Rocky Mountain National Park, having found an old cowboy and his nurse to be our witnesses. I wore a T-shirt which read "Life's a Mountain, Not a Beach". I said to Roam that I was going to have to find him one that read "Life's a Beach, Not a Mountain" for his own wedding. Somehow, though, I doubt Shenny will let him get away with wearing a T-shirt on the big day, nor spending just $9 on a wedding ring, which is what I got away with. Money was very tight for us then, although I did run to a new plaid skirt for the bride!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.