Câmara de Lobos

Another day when the weather in the mountains wasn't conducive to an exploration. I took the opportunity in the morning to reccie the buses and the local area for when E joins me soon, post Covid. I've found a great local cafe for that first good strong coffee of the day!

In the afternoon I headed out for a run along the coast to Câmara de Lobos and a sight of Cabo Girão, the cliffs that reach up to almost 2,000ft in height. I retraced my steps from there, but soon turned inland to follow a route back along a levada. It was a little tricky to find the start but once on the water channel I was able to follow it all the way back to Funchal. They are wonders of engineering. It ended up being almost 12 miles, somewhat more than intended. My knees are now not too happy. The hard surfaces have come as a bit of a shock after weeks of running on the soft paths of the moor back home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.