earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Where Palm Trees Grow

After three days of getting into the mountains, the decision was made to take a rest day. After all, we are on holiday. And I was keen to follow the sport, having an eye on Sinner v Medvedev from Melbourne. I woke up to read about the astonishing victory of the West Indies in the second test in Australia, and then ever more amazing, about how England had created just a chance to beat India. They really did not have a hope in hell overnight. Indian wickets kept falling and we suddenly became favourites. Dilemma. E wanted to go for a swim and it didn't seem right to let her go off on her own. To be fair, the momentum was shifting against us and following by text commentary is agonising.  I found out about England's breathtaking win as she entered the water. This England team, under Ben Stokes, is punching so far above its weight as to be unreal. I tried hard not to be disappointed at not being able to see any of it. Bring on the next match. I guess I'm going to have to subscribe to yet another streaming channel! I ignored the tennis after Sinner fell two sets behind. I was stunned and amazed to hear he'd mounted another comeback. Three turn arounds. Cricket and tennis. What a day.

Come the afternoon, the haze from the current Calima weather pattern (bringing hot temperatures and sand from the Sahara), cleared and, despite it being a rest day, I found myself getting into my running gear. I've been eyeing up the summit of Jaragan, which keeps grabbing my attention as we repeatedly walk up those 250 steps to our apartment. I couldn't help myself. Even though I set off rather late in the day, at 3pm, it had to be done.

It proved to be a far more scenic run than I was expecting from a look at the map. I suspect that a lot of work has been done on this trail recently. The way was easy to find, the vistas fabulous. I had enough time to do a round trip, taking a longer route back, including the brutal descent from Las Casetas to Lomo Fragoso, meaning those 250 steps back up at the end were also brutal. Now, I really am feeling my knees.

I love the palm tree situated just under the summit of the lesser peak of Ismael. Jaragan is behind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.