Random Landmark

Today brought more showery rain, which suited me fine because I'd targeted it as a writing day. It might not seem like I've been resting but the walking and running has given space in my head for ideas to form and bits of dialogue to take shape. They've been gestating and today I got my notebook out and let it all pour on to the page. I turn off my inner critic and just write away, stream of consciousness style. This is a scene I've been looking forward to writing for a long time. I didn't know exactly what was going to happen. I have to be in the right headspace so as not to force that. Instead, I inhabit my characters minds and let events unfold. It's fascinating and fun. I hope, ultimately, it will be for the reader too. 

Late afternoon, I went out for a short walk, which again ended up being longer than planned. It's hard to navigate the roads here in this city. The minor roads have a habit of twisting and turning in the wrong direction. The major roads have a habit of going into distinctly pedestrian-unfriendly tunnels! It's quite hard to get your bearings. I'm not even sure what church this is, but it's proved a useful landmark.

The forecast is set fair for a mountain day tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.