lrjlo - Suburban Explorer

By lrjlo

Quite a pair

I had a slow morning as I was tired from yesterday. This afternoon I headed for my local park, which was very busy as it was finally sunny. I saw foxes, coots nesting, wrens, robins, ducks, geese and the Egyptian geese and gosling I blipped last Monday. I also saw a honey bee but no bumble bees.

I spotted the kingfishers a few times as they were regularly disturbed by dogs and children running around and going in the river (today mostly the dogs as it's not quite warm enough for the kids to get in). I got a few solo photos but then saw one of them catch a fish and then it sat on a branch, where it was joined by its partner. I got a photo of them just as they decided to move but my shutter speed wasn't fast enough and I wasn't close enough even with the zoom lens so it's not the great photo it could be. My standards for myself are very high. In today's blip, the kingfisher on the left is contemplating eating its prize fish while the one on the right looks about to fall off its perch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.