lrjlo - Suburban Explorer

By lrjlo

Anti-heron discrimination

I liked this sign, it made me smile. But then I realised it also prohibits herons as well as any passing little egrets or cormorants. But I suppose the kingfishers deserve all the help they can get and the sign wouldn't be as impactful with a long list of excepted species.

This is Wilderness Island, a local nature reserve where the two arms of the Wandle meet, the one from Croydon and the one from Carshalton. It's quite a remote feeling place for an urban area and lot quieter than local parks. I was in the area for training in pollution monitoring. I can now respond to incidents reported by the public to the Environment Agency and assess the potential impact and whether they require a response from the EA. This is coordinated by the Wandle Trust, a local charity who I have previously helped with river clean ups. I hope to be able to help keep the plants and wildlife in the river safe and healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.