Snow falling - another lock

It started raining around lunchtime - not at all what we wanted, but after about an hour it turned to snow. Big fluffy flakes, a bit too wet to drift down, more vertical falling! Definitely a big improvement on rain. Hopefully this wet snow will stick firmly to the ice, making it easier and safer to walk around.
Having reawakened my knowledge about locks in the last couple of days I tackled the outer door of Betty's. The door closes properly and without problems, but the lock seemed to be totally frozen. I removed it from the door and dismantled it. (See the extra.)
Wow! It was even older and more basic than the ones I fixed yesterday. Some parts  looked hand-made and the locking mechanism was very simple. I'm fairly sure it's the original lock from when the house was built, back in 1920.  Anyway, it was easy to fix. When the door was painted someone had been careless with the paint and the locking part of the mechanism was jammed with dry paint. I cut and scraped it all away and the dead-lock worked immediately, if still somewhat stiffly. More time cleaning rust and suchlike away from all the surfaces and it opened and closed smoothly.
We didn't have a key but Jan appeared with all the keys ffrom Betty's and as I looked through them there was one with just two prongs. I knew this was the one because of the way the locking mechanism was constructed.
Tomorrow, in the daylight, I'll fit the handle and mechanism back into the door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.