Weed heads

I think these delicate dry seed heads are the delightfully named nipplewort I blipped in the summer. They are all over the garden, which suggests a huge crop of weeds in the summer, and I sometimes pick a handful to put in a vase. There was a bit of sun in the garden before lunch, which provided more interesting background colours than I've caught in previous attempts. 

I've spent most of the week doing things with J, including some overdue page editing on her communication aid, as after a day back with us on Monday her PA reported a lot more Omicron cases in her children's primary school classes, so we again thought she'd better not come. I don't know how we are going to find our way out of this though, as the outbreak can probably run and run - I heard on the radio that a lot of children are catching the virus more than once, and that was confirmed by a teacher from our village school earlier this week.  

Amidst the endless bad and infuriating news, I was pleased today that Rosie Cooper's BSL bill, a (UK) private member's bill which would recognise British Sign Language as an official language, leading to improved access in many areas for the deaf, signing community, has received the government backing which allows it to continue its journey through parliament. P and I started learning BSL when we learned that J was profoundly deaf at about fifteen months; she doesn't have enough hand function to use it herself, but it has been and remains crucial to her understanding of the world and was the route to her cognitive development and the key to her English language and literacy. I very much hope this bill can survive the various obstacles it will encounter and become law.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.