ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Sunday Snow.

M and I woke up today to a white Aviemore; after the bluebird day we had yesterday it was a bit of a surprise! Both of us are ridiculously sunburned, particularly me - I've got very attractive panda eyes (sunglasses) and a 50/50 white/pink forehead (headband). I tried to hide it with make-up, but from the glances I got in Sainsbury's later, I don't think I managed!

While M was still sleeping, I got up and had a wander round the forest behind the hostel. This time three years ago, I was on holiday there with M and A, and there was so much snow that we strapped A's dogs to a sledge and got them to pull us up and down the paved path!

On our way home, we stopped at a falconry centre outside Keith. We wandered round and saw some really impressive birds; bald eagles, saker falcons, harris hawks and eagle owls. We watched a display and I got to hold a harris hawk and ashy-faced barn owl - with a grin on my face like a child at Christmas! The light wasn't great for photos, but I'll put a couple on my 'folio.

We stopped off at Touched by Scotland for lunch and a wander round their craft shop, then home where M laid the fire and I made a lamb hotpot. Feeling happy, tired and sunburned - must have been a good weekend :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.