Chicken and Mushroom Pie!

Not the dish you choose when on a 'regime'!  But there was a reason for choosing it.

Had a pretty leisurely morning, doing what I do best, faffing, some arm exercises and some TRX.  Then down to Rae's to get hair cut, coloured and some lighter foils added.  Rae didn't know it, but he was on his last chance as the previous few cuts he's not listened to me.  It didn't start well as he was running 15 mins late and I had to pick my mum up at the most awkward area of Perth to get to in terms of traffic, then same traffic issues back over south of the river to the Doctors.  And there were roadworks on one of the bridges over the Tay - Eek I wasn't going to have time I quickly realised as it's a two hour appointment.  Called  S who had just finished his shift at the vaccines and was just going into Hinterland Cafe for his lunch, before headed to the ice rink at 1pm for school kids coaching.  It was really an SOS call for him to get back to his car, then head over to Bridgend to pick up mum and put her into our house which is far easier to get to the docs from.  Of course she wasn't ready and as she has the mobility of a snail, can't rush, Shame:-(  He eventually bundled her into his car and hit every red light on the way back to the house.  But he did have time for a quick roll and ham there and headed down to the ice rink.  What he didn't know was that poor mum hadn't had her lunch and didn't make her anything before he went, just put the kettle and the heating on!  She said she scrambled about in the cupboard and found a cracker to have with her cuppa.  We laughed later at that, but he did apologise.

Meanwhile, at the salon, I was producing detailed pics of myself (from 2016) zoomed in so Rae knew exactly what cut I wanted.  Yes, I'm so fussy but I know what I want.  He had lost his way a bit on the precise haircut instruction front but am pleased to say he did it perfect.  I will make another appointment, he is off the hook.  I was dreading the thought of having to find another hairdresser tbh, and he's a nice guy we have great chats and gives me the exact perfect colour and now he has given me the cut I used to have.

I ran to my car and headed home and saw S there instead of at the ice rink.  Only 8 kids turned up so the other coach took them so we decided we would take mum to the docs in my car (nippier) and he doesn't swing round corners as fast, and time was short.

Lo and behold , but to be expected, the doc was running late so mum had half hour all in with the wait and appointment.  Doc wanted her to see the practice nurse to give blood, so we waited on her being free, then when she went in she was 20 mins trying to give up her blood which was a fail.  The nurse stuck four needles into her papery skin to try to get blood out to no avail!  So another appointment was made for next Thursday (with the same nurse) to try again.  It's not gonna happen is it?  

By this time it was 4:30, so we decided to go for some food.  We went to Olivios on the Western Edge and it only did coffee and cake during the day so I remembered a tip from Nigel one of the volunteers for the Glover Arms, so off we went there.  It was absolutely delicious.  Mum had what looked like a shark but was haddock.  We were so hungry.  I only had porridge and a banana all day and mum a banana on a thin and a dry cracker.

All ended well.  The staff were lovely, the ambiance was cosy and great layout and the food was tremendous.  We will come back. 

Herein ends the long story of Wednesday 26 January - LOL!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.