Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Birdwatch

This is the weekend of the annual RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch.

Since Saturday was wild and windy (mostly) I decided that I would set aside some time on Sunday for the annual count. Feeders in the garden topped up, kettle on, made up a sandwich or two for lunch and waited. And waited some more.

After the requisite hour, by the end of which the wind had got up again and it had started to rain, I think my sum total was about two house sparrows, a blackbird and a collared dove. A couple of starlings and a feral pigeon had made an appearance earlier in the day, so I just included them in my total to make it look less meagre.

What's the betting the other little rascals all come out of hiding tomorrow and I open the blinds to empty feeders and some distant hollow laughter? Who's watching who now?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.