Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

A day of exploration

I found my gas and electric meters and I collected the nesting item I had bought in a local charity shop yesterday. Buying something for the new flat is always a milestone, and I am pleased with my purchase.
I walked anti-clockwise round the town starting from my flat and walking along the river bank. Strangely there are NO physical barriers to prevent pedestrians from accidentally stepping into the river. Living and learning.
I found this watery tart and she made me laugh. She is a gift from Koh-i-Noor GmbH of Germany.
She was sculpted by Amaryllis Bataille and she may or may not have something to do with “The Henley Mermaids” who swam the English Channel in relay on 22nd July 2020 in 17 hours and 43 minutes (as if I care). There are five names listed among the “Henley Mermaids” and I'm sure they will be listed somewhere on the internet if you care to search more than I care to copy-type. Perhaps this is a composite image of five fit and healthy women and at least it isn't a cannon or some rusty chains, or a UXB.
I found Asquith's Teddy shop and I am determined to introduce a niece to it next weekend.
I test-drove local charity shops. Plain black trousers for women in normal sizes range in price from £2.79 to £65. Charity shop fitting rooms are open in Henley but they will also do no-quibble returns.
I went to the cinema to see the latest Spidey and cried and cried and cried.
That is not a spoiler, that is the mess my head is in right now. I'll get over it.
Returned to a cold flat with a dead boiler and a different error message.
Used the new skills taught me by lovely friendly pro-active boiler engineer Chris to re-start the system – It needs to be re-pressurised every single day without fail or it dies.
So glad I caught it in time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.