Witch Hazel

A few slivers of blue sky and hopefully the opportunity for some flower photography means a visit to Bodnant seems ideal today. I’m feeling really tired, so G undertakes the Far End circuit while I keep to the closer terraces. 

As usual, I become more energised by walking with my camera, and there’s a surprising amount of colour in the garden. There are magnolias in pink and red and white together with some early rhododendrons. The ‘Winter Garden’ is delightful, fragranced beautifully by daphnes; it’s a little wonderland of snowdrops, dwarf irises and even daffodils. Hellebores in various hues hang their heads shyly, my favourite being the dramatic black variety. But what I’m really taken by are the witch hazels in their shades of yellow, peach and orange.

Of course, this gives me ample opportunity to use my new lens -  flowers in the absence of any tiny creatures. It’s going to take some time before I master macro - if I ever do - but it’s fun trying! And inevitably it’s hard to choose once more, but eventually I decide my main will be a witch hazel, with two collages as extras. 

Apologies once more for my absence today; I promise I’ll catch up with your journals tomorrow! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.