Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Unicorn

Thank you for all the birthday wishes for Fiona yesterday…I’ll pass them on…maybe next year she can have a real party with friends …..I almost brought her this unicorn as a present as I know she likes unicorns but I didn’t know she’d have that rainbow unicorn birthday  balloon and one of the wings on this creature from Oaxaca needed gluing.  So I glued it today and photographed it but needed to put it in an environment.   My biggest associations with Unicorns are the wonderful Unicorn Tapestries, made in the Netherlands,  one set at the Cluny in Paris and another at the Metropolitan Art Museum in NYC.  Without going into any kind of history or symbolism which would be lengthy,  I’m  thinking flowers.    Nanzy19 tells me that the Unicorn is Scotland’s national animal!  I didn't realize that.    It is symbolized on all kinds of heraldry along with the lion (for England)  and we were fortunate to see the new set of  fabulous Unicorn tapestries a few years ago at Stirling Castle, which is a copy of the Cluny set. 
 H is 1/2 Scot so does that make Fiona 1/8 Scot?    She will have this when I see her next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.