As big as a house!

Is this the  largest Jack Russell in the world or the smallest house in Wales?

As I walked along the coast path a few miles from home I remembered to look down to where a spit of land points outwards and on its rocky shoulder perches a tiny stone house barely visible from above.
I first spotted it in 2005 and never expected it to survive the winter wind and waves but there it still stands overlooking a small cove and Dinas Island beyond.
To get down there is quite a scramble to say the least. The bay has no access, formal or informal,  but Casey and I are blessed with short legs and sure feet. It was a joint effort: I helped him up and down the rocky places while he sniffed out the badger paths for us to follow. As we descended I realised that today's very low tide had completely exposed an open archway beside the tiny house. Carved by wave action through the solid rock, the arch revealed a view towards Fishguard to the west and looking back, the cliffs above the cove.
I've never discovered how the miniature house came to be here. It's easily accessible by boat but unless you know it's there it's all but invisible. It's thoughtfully positioned beside the arch but the arch is not itself visible unless the tide is low. It's solidly constructed with stone and mortar, and with slate discs for roof and chimney.
I like to imagine it was built by Selkies, the Celtic seal people who, in legend, occasionally emerge from the water to involve themselves in the lives of people, usually with tragic results. However, a more realistic explanation would be that a local builder (of whom there are many) made it to amuse or surprise his children. It's clearly been constructed by someone who knew his masonry.

It was a walk full of interest. I also met a horse with grey braids, a style I might well emulate if my hair was longer, and I saw a brown corduroy sofa on a lawn, available to buy for £250 I wanted a brown corduroy sofa. Finally (not illustrated) I found on the coast path a small compact camera case, nothing very special but I looked inside to see if there was any clue as to the owner and discovered a small piece of folded paper. It turned out to be the entry ticket for the Grotte de Rouffignac in the Dordogne region of France. It's one of the best of the painted caves, full of palaeolithic art deep under the ground. Very many years ago I visited it myself and only three days ago I was admiring Ice Age Art exhibition at the British Museum in London.

I think those Selkies must have been teasing me!

(Apologies for all those links. You can if you wish simply go to the first one and track through the rest.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.