Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

Long life battery

This morning my lovely wristwatch stopped. My better half had to go into town so I asked her to take it to the jeweller to have the battery replaced. She rang from town to say “Where is the jeweller? I can’t find it”. Oh dear, another Covid victim - our local jeweller has closed, disappeared in fact.
 
I wondered if, as a short term strategy, one of the $3 plastic watches I bought in the markets in Hong Kong years ago would still be working. Not a chance, of course. They all needed new batteries. I wasn’t prepared to experiment with my good watch but I didn’t mind having a go at getting into the back of a $3 watch to see if I could work out how to replace the battery. It was easy. The battery in the watch was a tiny round battery, smaller than anything I had seen before. But wait, was it? I remembered that Mum had had some tiny batteries for her hearing aid. I checked our battery drawer and, lo and behold, there was a packet of just the right size. Now, my lovely Mum died in 2009, nearly 13 years ago so I probably should have thrown these batteries out years ago. What chance that one of these batteries would still work? Well it did! The plastic watch is going strong and, so far, keeping good time. Now that’s what I call a long life battery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.