Ancestry.com

5°C  - 10 mph W Wind Speed  -  15 mph Gusts  -  Cloudy  -  Sunny Intervals.  My blip today has resulted from a message I had from Ancestry.com yesterday evening.  The photo is of me and my three cousins  -  I’m the blond sitting on the middle swing being held by cousin Iris, the boys are Raymond and Gordon.  We all lived together in a little Hampshire village until my parents moved to London in 1935  -  the photo would’ve been taken on my mother’s little red Kodak Box camera.  I’d lost contact with Gordon and had been trying to trace him these last few years with no success.  The Ancestry.com message gave me the name of a 2nd Cousin and a family tree she had submitted.  It was  exciting because Gordon and his wife both appeared at the end of the tree  -  sadly, though, both have died  -  Gordon in 1999 and his wife Sybil in 2015.  I cried over that  -  now I am the only one in that photo.  I have still to get in touch with the newly discovered 2nd cousin, but I’ll need a few days for it all to sink in before I do so.  Watch this space:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.