WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Curate's egg

I decided to try a new way of making tortilla. It did not go well. About as well as Boris Johnson's latest defence of #PartyGate in fact.

"It's good in parts," said S kindly. "The burnt parts." So, less damning than his verdict on my carrot and orange soup. I've long been frustrated by trying to make proper Spanish tortilla de patatas, and I'd seen someone making a tortilla on TVE magazine programme Aquí la Tierra, which always has some food content. She cut the potatoes into chunks and cooked them to mush before mixing with the eggs. So I tried to do the same, but even the smallest ring on the gas hob here, on the lowest setting, is too hot for the thin pans, so the potatoes started to burn, and then the tortilla stuck to the pan so it fell apart dramatically when I tried to flip it. It did taste better than it looks though!

After (late) lunch we went to the beach! Only for an hour or so, but it was very pleasant, warm enough to sunbathe if not swim. After these warm days I'll be giving the swimming pool another try.

PS Title credit to S!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.