WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Impulse buy

Almuñecar has lots of little craft shops providing supplies for manualidades (art/crafts), so popular with older Spanish people. As Fifi our Spanish teacher explained, they are tasks you can do with your hands that don't require so much concentration that you can't chat while doing them, so they are a social activity too.

Anyway, this wool was in the window of a little wool shop next to where S got his new trousers altered, and seeing its lovely forest colours I had a sudden urge to knit. Of course I didn't have a specific pattern in mind, but the young woman in the shop reckoned three large skeins were enough for a jumper, and threw in a circular needle for free.

I haven't knitted for probably 15 years ... at one time I did relatively fancy stuff, but the last item I knitted was an Icelandic sweater for S, about as easy as it gets. I decided I'd better do a tension square. You'd think knitting was like riding a bike, but I couldn't remember how to cast on ... a quick look at a YouTube video sorted that. I can see I may need more of this type of help.

Anyway I've found a simple (I hope) pattern on Ravelry that is knitted on circular needles (my preference because it means you can just do plain knit all the time). Just need a ruler and a couple more needles now ... and a Backlisted podcast to listen to of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.