*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

For Norma

I was very sad to hear about the passing of Norma Waterson.

Feel privileged to have seen her perform at Saltaire a few years ago, alongside her husband and daughter Martin and Eliza Carthy. It was just before Christmas and they were singing songs from their album 'Holy Heathens and the Old Green Man' plus many traditional carols hailing from South Yorkshire. It was a joyful evening which I remember very fondly. I also remember the smell of mulled wine wafting around Victoria Hall as the interval approached :-)

I learned how to make a Brigid's Cross today. They were traditionally made on 31st January and hung up to celebrate the Pagan festival Imbolc on 1st February, marking the beginning of spring. They were hung over doorways and windows to protect the home. They are normally woven from rushes but anything to hand will do, I made this one out of pieces of hairy string from my 'Odds & Sods' drawer. Thought it was apt to include in today's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.