Old photos !

Over the years I have gathered up many family photos from both sides of my family and some of the older ones are a bit of a mystery as I don’t know who they are and there is no one still alive to ask. 

The blip and the extra are 2 examples I came across this afternoon and they came from my mother’s side of the family most of whom lived in Edinburgh. The blip has R S Webster Edinburgh embossed on the edge so I did a Google search and discovered that R S Webster was born in Scotland in 1867 and he had three photographic studios in Edinburgh between 1894 and 1926. This would suggest the photo was taken approximately 100 years ago and the other one is probably a similar vintage. I may be able to work out who they are.

Apparently the great -grandson of R S Webster kept on the tradition and is Malcolm Graves a successful commercial photographer in Australia with a studio in Sydney.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.