dfb24

By dfb24

What a Day!

My younger brother and sister-in-law have a cottage in this general area and since we were up here for a few weeks, they decided to come up too, 'tho just for the weekend. Knowing how much it had been snowing, my brother asked our brother-in-law, who has a truck with a plow, if he'd go and plow their driveway before they arrived; my brother-in-law said he would. My sister and I decided to ride along. We'd only gone about 2 miles down the road when we were flagged down by a couple in a car, so my b-i-l stopped. She was a realtor who wanted to show her client a lot on the lake, but they had to drive all the way down the drive seen in my photo. The snow doesn't look that deep in the photo, but it was close to 3 feet deep. She asked my b-i-l if he'd consider plowing it, and she'd pay him. He said he'd plow it but that she didn't need to pay him. He did about 10 feet of it and got stuck when the truck slid into the ditch, as it was hard to tell where the edges of the drive ended and the ditch started. Since he was stuck, the realtor & her client, rather than offering to help, decided to drive to the second property the client wanted to see, and then they'd come back. My sister got out to help and the snow was up to her thighs. They wouldn't let me help as I hadn't been feeling well. My 
b-i-l hadn't put a shovel in the truck, so he was trying to dig out the tires by using the long brush you use to clear the snow off the windshield. He eventually got it unstuck, but in trying to back out, the truck slid to the other side & got stuck again. The realtor finally got back, and seeing that we were still stuck, the client who'd wanted to see the property gave my b-i-l  $100, in case he needed to call a tow truck, then he and the realtor took off.  No luck getting it unstuck, so my b-i-l jogged the 2 miles back to their cottage (wearing only tennis shoes as he hadn't planned on needing to get out of the truck), got a couple of shovels, a tow rope and the car, came back and shoveled the tires out, then attached the tow rope to pull the truck out......no luck. So after about 3 hours of being stuck there & trying to get free, we got in the car & drove back to the cottage, leaving the truck stuck on this drive. My nephew & his 2 young cousins were driving up the next day to spend the weekend with us, so my b-i-l waited until they got there, and they all went over and managed to get the truck unstuck. Unfortunately my brothers' driveway never got plowed before they got to their place, but fortunately their neighbor was also up for the weekend and lent them his snowblower, so all came out okay in the end. (& my brother-in-law put the $100 in the collection basket at church).   :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.