tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Mosses soft and spiny

Almost a contender for the January jewel series when I saw this spongy Sphagnum blushing beside a mountain stream. Famous for its ability to absorb 20 times its own weight in liquid, anything you read about Sphagnum moss will tell you how it served as wound dressings in WW1. It was howeevr the go-to absorbant padding aeons before that, used by indigenous women  to soak up menstrual blood and infants' leakage. It would be the ideal thing to stuff into your baby's papoose before the trip.

While I was up there I went to get some better shots of a mossy tuft I spotted a few days ago. It was covered with fruiting bodies that looked exactly like hedgehog spines (extra). I thought they'd make it easy to identify but searching for spiny/spiky/porcupine moss etc. nothing came up on the web  or in my moss book. But at last I found an image on Twitter of Polytrichum piliferum,  Bristly Haircap (not a very inspiring name!). I sent my image to the bryologist who'd posted his and got the reply back 
" I can't see any hairy nerve endings at the end of the leaves. So possibly P. juniperinum."
So now I know. Possibly.

(I like Twitter.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.