A Day Worth Recording

By Cheeseminer

The name's Bond. English Bond.

For the indoor railway layout (16mm:ft) I need to cover quite a large area with brickwork to make a factory backdrop.  For most other scales, from 2mm:ft through to 1:12 dolls houses, there are commercial sheets you can buy, however, no-one caters for 1:19.

Thus I started playing with the 3D printer, and dusting off my limited skills with the 3D program 'Blender'.

Then I got lost down an internet rabbithole of brick bond patterns, sizes, types, clays, proportions, ...

I always liked "English" and "Flemish" bonds, even if I have to backdate my factory scene a bit...

I'd love to know why it was the Flemish who came up with a distinctive building pattern rather than, say, the French or Germans...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.