It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Windy

From a selfish perspective, I wish I could spend most of my time outside with my camera. Since it became a revived passion when lockdown began, I’ve thought more about composition and framing. I bought a 2nd hand wee Fuji that sits comfortably in my pocket, and has helped me become more skilled. It’s relatively old and doesn’t work perfectly but I love the image quality. 
 
When I worked in Manchester, I liked it for street photography. Despite living in the Peak, my landscape ‘stuff’ was limited. I also got frustrated that I wasn’t developing a ‘style’ of my own. But starting again, I think I do and it errs to more minimal landscape. I need to use the time and environment I have. I don’t drive and have no ambition to travel to iconic locations to take the same iconic pictures as others do. I’m in the Edinburgh Photographic Society and I love seeing others work. But I have no intention to get involved in competitions. Getting judged on images based on others perceptions of what appropriate composition or lighting should be doesn’t appeal. But learning these rules still helps. 
 
This morning was what I love about photography. I was up early to walk the dog, the wind was blowing a hooley and it was cold. It was a perfect time for a walk to the opening of Leith Docks. It was hard to stand straight, the sea, whilst not overly choppy, was fully of movement and the clouds were catching the sunrise. I felt alive, in tune with my senses and looking for compositions that may work. Whether the end result is technically great or not, I’ll certainly remember the morning.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.