pipflash1

By pipnat51

The Welsh Dresser

After the usual household chores were done I took myself off for a walk down to Crimscote. I suppose it must be a hamlet and not a village as there are less than twenty houses and no church.

On the way down Talton Lane I could see Mark ploughing his one big field on the right hand side which he has never done before in the fourteen years that we have lived here. He has always kept some beef cattle in there until late Spring when he sends them on their way and leaves the field to grow and then June time he harvests it for hay.After that he sometimes lets a friend of ours, a shepherd, keep a small flock in the field until Autumn and then he once again gets some cattle back in there. This is how it's always been until now. I wonder what he will be growing in there?

The field on the other side of the lane, not Mark's land,  has had it's hedge ripped out and a fence erected and now has sheep in the field whereas that was always sowed with wheat, barley, or oilseed rape. They have planted a new hedge between the land and the fence. It's called a Saxon hedge whatever that is.

The photograph of the dresser has been tweaked in Adobe Lightroom Classic where I also changed the lens profile to a fisheye lens for effect. Just thought I would to see what it looked like. Might do it again sometime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.