South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Duck Tales

When I was dusting this morning, I saw these ducks who live in the glass fronted cupboard in our sideboard. I thought they would make a nice blip together with a small vase of primroses from our garden. My parents bought them for Paul when he was a baby and we were told they were very expensive and to put them in his nursery, but "somewhere safe". Then, when he was nearly two years old, we packed them away safely as we were moving house. And packed away safely they remained in a shoebox that we forgot to unpack and which went to the loft. We couldn't remember where we'd put them and my Mum in particular was always asking where they were. After about 10 years or so, my husband was sorting out the loft and found the shoebox. Also in it were my "sentimental" ornaments from my childhood and teen years, so it was nice to find those too. Paul was a bit too old for them to go in his room by this time (!) so we put them in the sideboard, where they have remained ever since. Mum, in her later years, asked a few times, "Did you ever find those ducks I bought for Paul?" and we were able to reassure her, "Yes, Mum, we did!" and she would be pleased!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.