Mushroom!

I was very excited to spot this when I came downstairs this morning. I've not been keeping a close eye on the so far apparently inert mushroom kit which P has tried keeping on top of the dining room bookcase. I think it's a baby shitake, about two centimetres in diameter. We've been struggling to find the right balance of warmth, light/darkness and moisture for the mushrooms - it seems we may not heat our house enough (in our efforts to use energy frugally) for exotic mushrooms to thrive. P harvested a small handful of grey oyster mushrooms, which were very tasty combined with standard mushrooms, tofu, peppers and garlic in a wrap, but they don't seem to be producing a second flush. We hope for many more shitakes, but I can't pretend I'm very optimistic. I've put a pack on next week's Tesco order, in case this one needs some support.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.