Undecided

When I came downstairs this morning, low, bright morning sun was casting beautiful, crisp shadows on the white walls in the garden room. The vase of hazel twigs from P's coppicing was creating intricate patterns, and I enjoyed a few minutes experimenting with still life arrangements with the fruit already on the surface. I was pleased to think that for once I had a photo ready to blip before breakfast - though of course I didn't download it till bedtime. In the meantime, though, I was waylaid by an unexpected, glorious sunset. As I went to close J's curtains at dusk, the glow of low light on the trees told me to look in the other direction; a quick peep from the back told me to grab a camera and trot along the road, and as I emerged from behind our conifer hedge, the sky was more vivid than I could have imagined. We don't see a lot of spectacular sunsets here - we are to the wrong side of the hill - but just along the road, at the bottom of the lane up the hill, there is a clear view across fields to a skyline of silhouetted trees which just sometimes gifts me beautiful evening colours. I think today's were the brightest yet: this is straight from the camera with no filter or editing. For ten minutes, I watched them gently fade through pinks and mauves to twilight blue. I've struggled to give up my twigs and pears: I rather like their muted simplicity and colours, and didn't really want to relegate them to an extra, but I think the sky trumps them. It's probably not really quite wide enough for Wide Wednesday, as I rushed out with the wrong lens on the camera, but it's as wide as I could go with what I had and definitely shows "nature".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.