Twisted stripes

This is Thursday evening's apology for an Abstract Thursday photo. The abstract painting is J's work, with the support of her PA and a lot of carefully applied masking tape, and it was inspired by and painted shortly after the excellent Bridget Riley exhibition at the Hayward Gallery, which we visited on New Year's Day 2020, our last exhibition before the pandemic confined us to home. I blipped about this last year. Art exhibitions are one of the things I have most missed. 

This week's Thursday movie was Little Women, the recent Greta Gerwig version. J bought me the DVD for Christmas, because we had both enjoyed it at the cinema. (Coincidentally, it may even have been our last pre-pandemic cinema trip.) I enjoyed the book when I was growing up, and although this adaptation has its critics, I like the treatment and the way the shifts in the timeline alter the focus. I also thought it was well cast, and loved the settings and costumes - J got very bored with me exclaiming about the knitting! The lovely wraps and shawls were all hand made for the film, commissioned from expert knitters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.