Made to fit

On my brisk walk to the train station, I went alongside Domain Drive looking over the playing fields in what was once a lava lake from the Pukekawa volcano. To the right of this view is the old grandstand with changing rooms beneath. In the winter these fields cater for rugby, with football (soccer) fields to the left beyond the remnants of the scoria cone on a second and smaller lava lake.

Both large grassed areas cater for cricket. And here they have marked out a 400m running track. Four lanes with very sharp turns at each end of the straights. It brings back memories of the tracks I ran on as a schoolboy. On one such track I ran my fastest mile. 

I think that the tight corners were a way to squeeze in the track without too much interference of the much more important sport of cricket; shorter length at the expense of greater width.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.