Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Fire in the sky

I clearly ate too much last night, and had a bit of a grumbly tummy this morning. I had offered to help lead a walk round Bainton Pits, but decided that I should probably give it a miss so sent my apologies. This gave a chance for more report writing! 

The morning had been sunny, but it was overcast by the time I felt up to a walk. I headed to Old Sulehay to scout out a route for a walk I'm leading in a few weeks time. Most of the way round the light was flat and uninteresting - positively gloomy in the forest. But I managed to find some remnants of the old Prisoner of War camp and found a route that was reasonably free from mud and contained a number of other historical features.

As I emerged into the quarry the sky suddenly burst into a conflagration of pink, orange and yellow - just such a wonderful range of colours , and the cloud shapes appearing like flickering flames. Really breathtaking...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.