An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Mounting up...

Well my planned swim this morning didn't go ahead.  Lola barked about five times during the night and David went down to resettle her each time, so when my alarm went off at 7am and he was out for the count, I didn't have the heart to wake him up (he checks the pool chlorine levels and removes the cover for me.  He also sticks within the vicinity as we have a rule about lone swimming)  

Will do my best to get in on Friday morning (D's up and out early tomorrow for golf) 

Alan was up sharp and off out for a "morning walk."  That's secret code for going to the barbers for a haircut.  If his team ask him if it's time to go for a haircut, he always says no.  If they suggest it's time for a haircut, he says no.  But if he heads out and just happens to end up at the barbers, he's absolutely fine with it!  Anyway, he looks very smart.

We had plans for today that included going to Gloagburn for lunch then that was changed to having lunch at home and afterwards going to Dobbies and Lakeland, then that changed to spending some time in the back garden checking how things are surviving over the winter but rain put paid to that!  In the end I spent the afternoon in the study getting paintings (mainly old ones) mounted.  It's a job that always takes longer than I think it will.  Just four left to do (I left them today as not sure I will mount all of them.  Will decide tomorrow) then I can get them framed and hopefully up on the wall over the weekend.

Once I am clear of those I can finally relax and give my full attention to creating new work.  I have a ton of ideas and things I want to try.  They've been percolating in my mind for months and now it's time to play.  

The final piece of the jigsaw was put into place today regarding our holiday to Harris & Lewis in May.  The holiday house we are staying at on Harris for the first week of our holiday is a Friday to Friday let, but Christine's house in Stornoway, where we're staying the second week, is a Saturday to Saturday let.  We had to find accommodation for the middle Friday.  Not easy to find accommodation for one night in such a popular place!  

After much searching we have booked a hotel room.  All the accessible rooms have gone but I can slum it for one night :-))  Ele and Kenny have booked an air b&b.  It's a little pod at the bottom of someone's garden.  Relieved to have it sorted.  Booked the ferry as soon as Cal Mac's summer timetable was released.

Ele is coming for lunch tomorrow so I am sure much of our chat will be about the holiday.  Neither she or Kenny have ever been to the Outer Hebrides.  I can't wait for them to experience how amazing it is :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.