Marionb

By Marionb

Weathered Jewels .....

......"this cocktail of colour, found among the rocks, crafted by the patient ocean's constant dance..." (Oliver Tearle in his poem Sea Glass)

Sea Glass..one of my favourite things ....and I have lots of it.

And today was a good day to bring some of it out to scatter around my living space and make me think of sea and sand...while I wait for the freezing rain to arrive on this dull and dreary day!  

I had no intention of getting into anything philosophical or serious.. I just thought sea glass would be a nice touch to accompany my sea shells and colourful quilt.   

As I often do, though, I went to the internet in search of a sea glass quote or possible title.. The internet has so many more creative ideas than I could ever have! And surprise, I found that poem..I loved the imagery in it, and it happened to be accompanied by a note suggesting what the poem meant...which I thought was worth remembering......

"Just as brittle glass is weathered by the years and the elements. so are we weathered, but also shaped, by the passing years as we grow older. Glass loses its original slickness when it becomes sea glass, but it acquires its tough, frosted appearance which makes it durable and resilient, Similarly we may lose the lustre and good looks of our youth as we grow older, but we acquire an emotional and psychological robustness to compensate for this loss". 

Point taken...and next time I am lamenting the fact that I am growing old, losing my lustre, and looking rather frosty...I will think of sea glass..and be reassured that I am resilient and stronger for it. 

On the other hand, sometimes sea glass is just sea glass...and looks pretty in glass containers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.