Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Flowers in the window!

Swimming was not on the agenda today, as JR was up and out at sparrow's - couldn't wait to get to work! And if I go too early, The Slow Lane isn't set up for just me to use it. So it was an easy decision to stay abed a while longer.

I rang the hospital to find out Uncle A's ETA, and they kindly said they'd ring me as he was 'pushed out the door' - presumably they meant on a wheelchair... This saved me going there too early and twiddling my thumbs for hours. However, I gave them the landline number and not my mobile, so I was trapped at home.

This was not all bad news, as I really needed to be trapped at home to do a few important things - get an online ISA (a tax free savings thingie), clear out a few dozen hundred photos to free up memory, and pass on some funnies by email - I had a backlog of them. I deleted a few hundred dozen of Percy the Pelican.

I looked round the flat for a blip. Yes, the white tulips looked nice. I moved them round, not happy with any backgrounds. Then I hit on the idea of sticking them out on the window sill. The sill is a bit very sloping, so this wasn't such a good idea. Setting them on the ledge wasn't much better... but I rather liked them there. Perhaps with a bit of glue, they'd be fine. I think the window frames them nicely. The arctic gale that was coming in meant that it was not practical to leave them there, nicely framed or not.

The hospital rang just after midday - caught me by surprise, so I hot-footed it down to Uncle A's flat to await his return. He did text a while later saying he was still at the hospital. And added - 'Shambles'.

I should add that he was very happy with his NHS treatment, and will write to them later to say so.

However, he's home, quite perky and of course as happy as Larry to be in his own bed tonight. We arranged that I'll go over first thing in the morning, just to be there, while he gets himself up, showered and dressed. So no swimming tomorrow. Does it seem that I'm looking for excuses?

I have a good excuse for not going swimming the other days this week - Tom Daley is there for a big diving competition. Now that's a proper excuse! The christening of the new flash cossie will have to wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.