Book Group

I have read three books in the last few days - they were all very short and readable. It was our Village Book Group tonight and here we are arriving at the Village Hall. It was a good meeting. There is always a good attendance, much worthwhile discussion and lots of laughs. 

I will just mention the three books I read, as some people might be interested. 

All Passion Spent: Vita Sackville-West
This was the book we had read for this evening. Published in 1931 - a book of its time, but a lot of thoughts on growing old and gaining independence. We all liked it, particularly for the writing. 

No Signposts in the Sea : Vita Sackville-West
I found this on my book shelves and have no idea why/how it got there. I'm pretty certain I have not read it. I enjoyed it, although it has faults. Published in 1961 it was the author's last book.

Small Things Like These: Claire Keegan
I had heard so many people talk about this book and knew I would read it sometime. Then freespiral wrote about having loved it, so I got a copy. It is a real gem of a book. So short, but perfectly plotted and written. A book that is very enjoyable to read and makes one think. I highly recommend this one. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.