Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Nothing Remarkable

We had a lunchtime walk, along the local nature reserve, with its section of landlocked disused canal.  I was going to post an image of one of the sections of the canal covered in vivid red algae until this little bird flew past us and rested in the hedge with just a little bit of sunlight on its tail.

As the title says, nothing remarkable save that I managed to get this close with a 24-200mm lens on the camera, rather than the bigger 200-500mm zoom.  It allows for much better definition of the feathers than is often afforded by the longer lens.  More remarkable was that it allowed me to get within a few feet to take half a dozen images without flying off.

In the evening we played badminton for a couple of hours.  Unfortunately, my left arm and shoulder continue to give me discomfort while playing (I'm left handed).  It makes me wonder whether it is beckoning the end of my playing days, but while I can still swing the racket I'll plug on.

On the way home we use a short section of motorway, just about a mile long, so we were quite frustrated when we were held by the Police because of an accident that had happened on the slip road.  Fortunately, it looked as though everyone was out of the cars and the road block only lasted a few minutes while the officers set up a safe cordon around the affected vehicles on the hard shoulder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.