Spoor of the Bookworm

By Bookworm1962

Ding! Dong! The Wicked Witch is Dead!

There I was only yesterday in the comments section talking about the prospect of this happy day and it arrives in a rush! I was trying to calm my blip diary down a bit, ease off the anger and the politics. Even the news this week about the hidden reclassifications in the mobility test for DLA (which could well cost me my car and therefore my ability to leave the house), even that I was going to ignore. I had planned a pleasant little excursion into the arts and crafts I try to keep my fingers active with and some pictures of the Spring that seems to be finally breaking in leafless Oxfordshire.....but then the news broke! Maggie Thatcher finally pops her clogs and Cameron's going to give her a state funeral. As John Wayne used to say "That'll be the day"

There's no way I can talk about anything else today but rather than compose a rant I shall simply post my facebook messages written as the day unfolded, I think they about cover most of the issues, how I feel about them and my response to the criticism I received ( I got a lot more support than criticism).

My Facebook Day by Bookworm aged 50 and two thirds

Early in the day:
You could not make this shit up. Gideon "Bullingdon" Osborne parks his land rover in a disabled space after doing everything he can to impoverish and dehouse the disabled. Just like when he was caught riding in First Class without a ticket, when caught he tells pathetic schoolboy lies. Apparently he didn't notice it was a disabled space....if you look at the pictures its not only clearly marked, a third wider than the other 230 normal spaces he drove past to get there but it's bright fucking orange! What else would he miss while driving along? Elephants? Herds of wildebeest? Perhaps he'd care to drive over the top of me to rid society of such dependant vermin? After all I did personally crash the economy and i do daily rob "hard working" born into wealth millionaires every day. It would be an exercise in fairness and a cranially administered Landrover is an effective pain reliever.

The news breaks...
Thatcher is dead! hooray! i wish there was a hell she could burn in. if they give her a state funeral see you in london for a riot! Let the joyous news be spread! the Wicked Old Witch at last is dead!

later still...

In a small magical land, the tiny little blue painted people are dancing in the streets and singing "Ding! Dong! The wicked witch is dead.....it's otherwise known as Scotland!

and later again...

Did I mention Thatcher is dead? That did me more good than a bucket of happy pills and a joint!
comments
Christine H******n: not nice Norman!!!!

Me: I don't care I'm afraid. She destroyed the core values of our state, attacked the institutions the war time generation established as the society they had fought for, deliberately turned the police force into a political strike breaking weapon and unleashed it on the working classes, privatised utilities such as water and rail to the detriment of our citizens, deregulated the banks so that they could let greed and fraud destroy the world economy, demonised the unemployed as scroungers, destroyed industry, reduced the communities I grew up in to ghost towns, laid the foundations of this current crop of Tory bastards who have subjected me and hundreds of disabled people like me to humiliation and poverty. I am glad that this rich old bitch who got wealthy on the pain of others no longer draws breath on this planet and if they give her a state funeral I will do everything in my limited power to disrupt it and protest the obscenity of it. I'm supposed to act all nice because she got to be old and comfortable while some of us live with her legacy and the constant daily struggle not to commit suicide. Any questions.

later and finally...
There have been so few days of anything like victory in my life. The last unqualified one was the day of the palace coup when she fell - the moment when the message flashed up on every screen in our building "Thatcher has left Downing Street", overriding whatever program was running, a spontaneous cheer from hundreds of officially neutral civil servants broke out and went on and on! There was of course the subsequent Labour victory but happy as that was it was tainted by the knowledge that Blair had taken the party to the right and into Diet Tory country. No, today will go in my little box of treasures that no one can take away from me. Exalting over the death of an old woman? Yes I am and she deserves every moment of the hate and celebration that is pouring out of this country today. I feel like driving up to Edinburgh where there will be dancing in the streets and necking in the parlours!

Catie and I then went out for a drive and played songs by The Munchkins, Billy Bragg, Bob Dylan and John Lennon very loudly as we went

Of course I am an ageing hippie and old Trotskyite so what can one expect? What about the younger people?....well here's an extract from Catie's social blogging of today, she certainly has a way with words
:

There are people making noises about respect for the dead, and that celebrating Margaret Thatcher's death is wrong.
Well you can shut the fuck up.
The American's can celebrate assassinating terrorists. I can damn well celebrate some old bitch dying of natural causes in her old age. The same bitch who fucked our country over so hard we're still searching for the tattered edges of our ass.
So Fuck you. Today is a very good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.