Spoor of the Bookworm

By Bookworm1962

Needle Nerd

My first doodling attempt at a new hobby, needle felting. It's very rough as I didn't have any plan in mind when I started. I was just testing out the technique to get a feel for how easy it was to sculpt and detail so it began as me trying to turn a 1 inch fluff of wool fibre into a tiny egg shape of felt. Once I got going though a little character emerged. As I say it's just a rough little doodle about an inch or so high but I enjoyed doing it. I've always enjoyed making things and techniques like this one which involve a lot of concentration and repetitive action I treat like a form of meditation. Quite awkward to do lying on your side but as a first tentative step I'm not unhappy with it. It certainly took my mind away from less pleasant things and into a little self contained world. Got to think of a name or him/her now....

Later:I've changed the picture owing to further product development. While I was mucking about playing with the technique on a little test piece I had The Rocky Horror Show playing in the background. After I had posted the original picture of the little white head ( lying against some black wool to give it the appearance of hair), Catie and I both recognised the character trying to get out of my subconscious as Frank N Furter so I decided to finish it off! The original blip is at http://www.flickr.com/photos/bookworm62/8629372248/in/photostream. If anyone doesn't know who Dr Furter is, this video should be enlightening! http://youtu.be/bc80tFJpTuo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.