Living my dream

By Mima

Azolla filiculoides

It has rained most of the day, which saves me watering, but which also makes harvesting a challenge. I have picked the slightly drier moments to rush out with a basket and knife to cut courgettes, broccoli and lift a root of potatoes.

A day of rain drives me nuts unless I can get out for a walk, so with both of us in our waterproofs, Bean and I set off along the road to our friends' property a kilometre away. There she can have a good run and I linger over the latest developments in their grand planting plans. 

Their pond is filling with azolla filiculoides as it always does in summer. It is a tiny floating weed which has fooled some dogs into thinking it's dry land. Not Bean though: she wasn't going anywhere near water today. There was enough of the stuff landing on the bits of her not covered by her coat and it was far too cool for splashing. 

The phone consultation with my lovely GP happened this morning. He phoned me bang on time which impressed me. The conversation was good. He was reassuring and just to be on the safe side he's referred me for a CT scan later this month in the local hospital.

In the meantime I continue to improve and my diet is gradually getting back to normal. Phew. Thank you for all your messages of concern over the last few days. It is appreciated. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.